Will in the World: How Shakespeare Became Shakespeare

Uncategorized

Even with this relative abundance of information, there are huge gaps in knowledge that make any biographical study of Shakespeare an exercise in speculation.

I just wrote quite a lot about myself and my overwhelming life that I can’t seem to manage with any sort of grace and then I deleted it all because my problems, my complaints, aren’t going to kill me.

Nobody ever died of having too much Christmas shopping to do.

And it seems shallow to take up even the tiniest amount of digital space with my moans and groans of a privileged life. What I should really be doing is signing petitions demanding an end to death and indignity – there are dozens of choices from all sorts of nonprofit, do-gooding organizations. Or I could be rallying my friends and neighbors to open their minds and wallets to the cause. Whatever cause that may be. Or I could be knitting mittens to send to small children in hot countries. Or I could be lighting candles to celebrate the men and women who perished in past wars and are perishing still. Or I could be writing checks to homeless people. Or I could be baking cookies to leave on benches. Or I could be…

Thing is, I don’t know how to knit and if I write any more checks they’ll bounce. And I am positive the children have eaten all the chocolate chips in the house, so that’s cookies gone impossible.

And I’m tired of all the talking and the writing and the reading about bad things and how they should be fixed, and how they shouldn’t be fixed.

I’ve been listening to a lot of pop music lately. L has programmed all the hip stations into my car radio so during the morning and afternoon on my long commutes, I can bop along with Adele and… actually, that’s the only name I know. Sorry, pop world. But they raise me up. They make me less moody and self-involved. They make me laugh and remember what it’s like to be able to do a situp with minimum effort.

So let’s just sing along for a bit and then we’ll solve all the problems.

Long live the pioneers
Rebels and mutineers
Go forth and have no fear
Come close the end is near

All hail the underdogs
All hail the new kids
All hail the outlaws
Spielberg’s and Kubrick’s

And I say hey, hey hey hey
Living like we’re renegades
Hey hey hey
Hey hey hey
Living like we’re renegades
Renegades, renegades

2 thoughts on “Will in the World: How Shakespeare Became Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

