A God in Ruins (yes, still)

Uncategorized

Love had always seemed to Teddy to be  a practical act as much as anything else–school concerts, clean clothes, regular mealtimes.

(…because, have you seen the size of this book. Huge. HUGE. Which, apparently, is a trend these days. Amazing, in our age of tweets and status updates and tiny screens. We like big books and we cannot lie…)

Why yes, I did forget about early release day today.

About 1 p.m. my phone rang with a call from home and I wondered if M had left work early with a migraine. No. It was my oldest. And as soon as I heard his voice, I remembered something significant.

“Oh shit,” I said.

“Yup,” he answered. His disappointment in me was palpable and deep.

“I forgot all about early release!” I said.

“Yup.”

“Honey, I’m so sorry.”

“Yeah, well, at first I was really angry but now I’m just annoyed.”

“So….any chance your brothers are home with you?”

“Nope.”

“No sign of them?” A girl can hope, can’t she?

“Luca got off the bus at the elementary school and Barno never got on the bus. Don’t worry, they’re probably at the after-school program.”

And that’s exactly where they were. Happily scarfing down juice packs and Famous Amos cookies. They didn’t seem to realize anything was even slightly amiss. “Did you know it was early release day today?” I asked L. He looked at me with a confused expression and said, “Well, yes?”

Being a forgetful mom gets easier as your kids get older. T is old enough to figure out what to do (though how old does a kid have to be to remember to watch out for his younger brothers?) and L manages to land well however far up you drop him from, and B is…recognized. We can’t go anywhere without someone saying, “Hey, it’s B!” or “Aren’t you L’s little brother? You look just like him.” He’ll be fine as long as I neglect him within the town’s boundaries.

I suppose I could call today a failure, but I’d rather look upon it as a reminder of room for improvement. Maybe I’ll make an amazing dinner to make up for my earlier mistake, something everyone likes. Oh wait, that meal doesn’t exist in this house. Maybe I’ll let everyone stay up a half hour past bedtime. Not likely, I’ve got TV to watch and wine to drink. Maybe I’ll just hug them extra hard and continue to do my best. Really, that’s all I’ve got. And usually, it’s enough. Except maybe on early release days.

4 thoughts on “A God in Ruins (yes, still)

  1. Absolutely *NOT* a failure! It was a great experience for them all and, though perhaps you felt a bit of guilt, for you and for me, too. They have even more confidence today and we have yet more evidence of their ability to survive us. I love you. And it was a lovely evening all the same. And a fine meal. More love. Love, your love.

  2. Hey…if that is the worst thing you do, you are doing pretty well. Look at all the things we survived that we would never (knowingly) do to our kids!

Leave a Reply

