from Ask the Passengers by AS King

Uncategorized

A time of thinking and not knowing  p 44

The phone repairman came to the house today—and believe it or not—he fixed our phone. It was truly a Hallelujah! moment. This may sound odd, or a tad overzealous; but trust me when I say to you it was completely and utterly justified response.

We have been without our phone and internet for 2 months.

Imagine that if you will.

I’ll give you a few more moments to ponder that scenario. No phone, no cell, no internet.

It may sound heavenly and I would jump on the first plane that could take me to a totally unplugged vacation, but it’s not possible to live your life this way in the 21st century.

For starters, how do you call 911 if an emergency arise? Well, you don’t.

How does a senior in high school get his homework done? Or a woman who routinely works too late, how does she call home to let them know she is coming and that she will drive slowly because the roads are icy. Again, it’s just not possible.

There were work-arounds and allowances made. It was a horrible time that I hope not to repeat. Being disconnected by choice is one thing and I advocate that strongly— having it taken from you because the phone company can’t get their act together to send someone to your house to make a repair is another.

This morning when P the Phone Guy asked me to test the computer, I realized I had almost forgotten how to get onto the dial-up. And then we I needed to call the Library to say I would be late due to the magical appearance of the repairman, I stumbled over the numbers and had to redial.

I guess two months is a long enough time to distance yourself from routine and form new habits.

Mostly it was the not knowing. Every day hoping, hoping, hoping, someone would come with the ability to make things right. And every day being surprised and upset that they hadn’t come. Calling the phone company to make a complaint when you haven’t got a phone is challenging. But we would make time to call from work and someone from customer service would tell us a repair person would be there in the next day or two. It would turn out to be a lie, and we would be disappointed. Again. It happened several times over the last eight weeks. It was like there was a locked door in front of us. We could knock, bang, pound on it all we wanted, but it just would not open. I don’t know if we found the magic words or a secret key was ferreted from under a rock, but today was the day of the great opening. Or at least that’s how it will live in my memory. We have been reconnected with the outside world, no longer totally isolated within these four walls.

But now that it’s back, we can look on that time with a healthy remove, as if it were last year instead of yesterday. How do I know things are normal? I just tried to call home and discovered the line was busy. Which means someone is online. Yep, you can go back again. Truly, some dial-up is better than none at all.

*The above photo is entitled: Phone phinally phixed by Phil.

2 thoughts on “from Ask the Passengers by AS King

Leave a Reply

